Aug 15th, 2005 | By | Category: 17-1: Telling Our Stories, Tribal College News

STUDENTS OF THE YEARThe American Indian College Fund and the American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) have named 34 top American Indian tribal college students as 2005 Students of the Year based on their academic achievements and service to the community. Each received a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by the Castle Rock Foundation. Back row (left to right) Eltina Three Stars (Oglala Lakota College), Kia Lanza (Fort Berthold Community College), Kendall Graywater (Cankdeska Cikana Community College), Jenny Markwardt (Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College), Shannon Northbird (Leech Lake Tribal College), Rutherford Small Eyes (Red Crow Community College), Kerry Stewart (Little Big Horn College), Daniel Miguel (Tohono O’odham Community College), Frankie Kipp (Blackfeet Community College), Joseph Claunch (Haskell Indian Nations University), and Tanya Parker (Sinte Gleska University). Also pictured is Iris Heavy Runner (Mellon Fellow). Front row (left to right) Sarah Yazzie (Crownpoint Institute of Technology), Catherine Racette (Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College), Devin Wertman (Chief Dull Knife College), Orlando Cariaga (Nebraska Indian Community College ), Amanda Hicks (Turtle Mountain Community College), Circe Luttrell (Southwest Indian Polytechnic Institute), Jessica Roney (Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College), Ronald Guerrero (Fort Belknap College), and Joey Awonohopay (College of Menominee Nation). Not pictured are Fanaye Lynette Litson (DinĂ© College), Jeffery Gaus (Bay Mills Community College), Adrianne Levy (White Earth Tribal and Community College), Gaydella Brunelle (Fort Peck Community College), Elizabeth Lodge Pole (Stone Child College), Karla Daniels (Little Priest Tribal College), Deleana Lynn Otherbull (Institute of American Indian Arts), Jade Ducheneaux (Sitting Bull College), Todd Trottier (United Tribes Technical College), Logan Demaray-Bacho (Si Tanka University), Savannah Sioux Greseth (Sisseton Wahpeton College), La Belle Urbanec (Northwest Indian College, Marilyn J. Ramsburg (Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College), and Deidra Mountain Sheep (Salish Kootenai College).

Find similar:

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.