All-ND Academic Team includes 2 CCCC students

Aug 15th, 2011 | By | Category: 23-1: Beyond Racism, Tribal College News

Among the 10 North Dakota community college students named to the 2011 All-North Dakota Academic Team are two students from Cankdeska Cikana Community College (CCCC, Ft. Totten, ND), Waynita Chaske and Magdeline Harrison.

“These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement,” says Bill Goetz, chancellor of the North Dakota University System. “Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that both the students and their colleges can be proud of. Clearly, students who attend North Dakota’s community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education.”

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All- USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team will receive a certificate of congratulations from Governor Jack Dalrymple, an award certificate, a medallion, and a monetary award. Each team member also is eligible for scholarships from Jamestown College, Mayville State University, Minot State University, the University of Mary, and Valley City State University.

Find similar: ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.