College Fund Names Students of the Year

Aug 15th, 2006 | By | Category: 18-1: The Winding Road to Student Success, Tribal College News

The American Indian College Fund has named its top American Indian tribal college students as 2006 “Students of the Year” based on their academic achievements and service to the community.

The fund hosted an awards banquet in Green Bay, WI, on March 12, 2006, where each recipient received the prestigious award and was also honored with a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by the Castle Rock Foundation.

“The American Indian College Fund is honored to recognize the achievements of all of these students,” said College Fund President Richard B. Williams. “Each has demonstrated that through education, anything is possible.”

Ranging in age from 19 years to 54 years, the Students of the Year represent a variety of tribes and attend tribal colleges throughout the United States. Despite working toward degrees in various disciplines, each possesses a record of academic excellence and community service. Students of the Year are selected through a highly competitive process by each individual tribal college.

The complete list of 2006 Students of the Year, including tribal affiliation and tribal college, follows.

  • Donna Azure (Turtle Mountain Chippewa), Turtle Mountain Community College
  • Tashina Azure (Turtle Mountain Chippewa/Meskwaki), Haskell Indian Nations University
  • William Badboy (White Earth Band of Minnesota Chippewa Tribe), Leech Lake Tribal College
  • Lisa Bresette (Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa), Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College
  • Brian Brown (Sicangu Lakota), Sinte Gleska University
  • Kevin Brown (Navajo), Institute of American Indian Arts
  • Velden Calica (Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs), Blackfeet Community College
  • Crystal Carr (Navajo), Diné College
  • Olivia Colon (Fort Peck Assiniboine), Fort Peck Community College
  • Wallace Dale (Navajo), Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
  • Darrell Decoteau (Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate), Sisseton Wahpeton College
  • Charleen Eagle Elk (Oglala Sioux), Oglala Lakota College
  • Dana Ferguson-Michaley (Oglala Sioux), Nebraska Indian Community College
  • Gina Gregor (Oneida/Menominee), College of Menominee Nation
  • Tammy Hammer (Mandan/Hidatsa), Fort Berthold Community College
  • Tilda Harrison-Woody (Navajo) Crownpoint Institute of Technology
  • Penelope Jackson (Spirit Lake Tribe), Cankdeska Cikana Community College
  • Leah Jahnke (Bay Mills Indian Community), Bay Mills Community College
  • Rebecca Krueger (Yankton Sioux), Little Priest Tribal College
  • Adam Lane (Lummi), Northwest Indian College
  • Lawrence Lopez (Tohono O’odham), Tohono O’odham Community College
  • Mariah Maxwell (Northern Cheyenne), Chief Dull Knife College
  • Terry Medicine Crow (Standing Rock Sioux), United Tribes Technical College
  • Elvis Old Bull (Crow), Little Big Horn College
  • Angela Roney (Little River Band of Ottawa Indians), Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
  • Candace Shade (Blood Tribe), Red Crow Community College
  • Gloria Shalifoe (Keweenaw Bay Indian Community), Keweenaw Bay Ojibwe Community College
  • Jason Smith (Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribe), Salish Kootenai College
  • Mary Jo Townsend (White Earth Ojibwe), White Earth Tribal and Community College
  • Randall Werk (Gros Ventre), Fort Belknap College
  • Daryl Wright (Chippewa/Cree), Stone Child College
  • Madonna Youngbear-McCarthy (White Earth Band of Minnesota Chippewa Tribe), Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College

The American Indian College Fund was established in 1989 to increase educational opportunities for Native students. It is based in Denver. In addition to distributing scholarships to students attending tribal colleges across the country, the College Fund also supports endowments, developmental needs, and public awareness for the tribal colleges.

For more information, see

Find similar: ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.