The Four Hills of Life: Ojibwe Wisdom

Feb 15th, 2007 | By | Category: 18-3: Building Prosperity, Media Reviews

by Thomas Peacock and Marlene Wisuri
Afton Historical Society Press (2006)
120 pages  ISBN 1-890434-71-X
Hardcover $24.00

Review by Rachael Marchbanks

The Four Hills of Life relates enduring Ojibwe lessons about life and the challenges faced throughout its different stages.  It explains how, as humans, we grow and change as we make our way through life’s four seasons: childhood (spring), adolescence (summer), adulthood (fall), and old age (winter).

Along the way, we encounter “hills” or challenges which teach us life’s important lessons. Connecting contemporary examples with traditional teachings, the reader learns through an eloquent framework. The authors confront modern day issues such as depression and drugs while infusing time-honored teachings about values, family, roles, and responsibilities.

This book would be an excellent teaching tool.  With activities geared mainly towards children, it reviews what the reader has learned at the end of each section and asks critical questions to help the reader apply what is learned.

Beautifully written and illustrated, it is a pleasure for the eyes and the spirit, a gift to all who read it.

Rachael Marchbanks is the Tribal College Journal publisher.

Find similar:

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.