Three TCU Presidents Honored for Leadership

May 15th, 2007 | By | Category: 18-4: Health and Healing, Tribal College News

From left: Ferlin Clark, president, Dine College. Photo by Jonas Grushkin of Fort Lewis College.; Dr. Kim Winkelman, president, Comanche Nation College; David M. Gipp, president, United Tribes Technical College. Photo by the University of North Dakota.

Three tribal college presidents — Ferlin Clark, David M. Gipp, and Kim Winkelman — recently were honored by their alma maters and communities.

Comanche Nation College President Dr. Kim Winkelman (Oglala Lakota and Abenaki) was recognized as 2006 Indian of the Year for the 75th installment of the American Indian Exposition in Anadarko, OK.

Winkelman is a retired Army lieutenant colonel, according to a Lawton Constitution article. In 22 years of military service, he earned several military merit awards. He earned a bachelor’s degree from the The Citadel, a master’s from the Monterey Institute of International Studies in California, and his doctorate from Walden University. Comanche Nation College was the first tribal college in Oklahoma.

United Tribes Technical College President Gipp (Hunkpapa Lakota) is featured in the University of North Dakota’s (UND) “More Than Beads and Feathers” poster campaign. He is recognized as one of nine successful Native graduates of UND. Gipp, a political science UND graduate, has been president of UTTC since 1977. Prior to that, he was director of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC). Throughout his professional career, he has received several national awards.

Ferlin Clark (Diné) has been president of Diné College since 2004. He is highlighted in Fort Lewis College’s (FLC) spring 2007 recruitment brochure. According to the brochure, he earned a B.A. in English from FLC in 1988 in Durango, CO, a master’s in administration from Harvard, and is now pursuing a doctorate from the University of Arizona. Last fall, the FLC College Alumni Association presented Clark with a Distinguished Alumni award. Clark is vice president of the AIHEC executive board.

Find similar: , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.