26th AIHEC Conference Honors Winning Students

Aug 15th, 2007 | By | Category: 19-1: Tribal College Students Today, Tribal College News

2007 Student Congress officers. Photo by Mary Annette Pember

The tribal colleges in South Dakota hosted the 26th Annual American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) Student Conference in Rapid City, SD, in March 2007. Various student competitions culminated in nearly 200 students receiving awards in a 3-hour ceremony. The results are posted on the Oglala Lakota College (OLC, Kyle, SD) website, www.olc.edu (Click on special projects/aihec).

Tanya Sharpfish of OLC was selected as Ms. AIHEC and Elijah Hopkins of Fort Peck Community College (FPCC, Poplar, MT) as Mr. AIHEC; the two serve as ambassadors for the organization. The annual competition recognizes outstanding tribal college students based upon their academic records, cultural involvement, personal vision, and community service.

The AIHEC Student Congress officers elected at the March meeting will serve until the spring conference in 2008. They are President Vincent Townsend (Haskell Indian Nations University), Vice President Karl Duncan (Institute of American Indian Arts, IAIA), Secretary Desirea Lisa LaMotte (Diné College, DC), Treasurer Marcus Largo (DC), Sergeant at Arms Orlando Avery (OLC), Historian Elijah Hopkins (FPCC), Southwestern Regional Representative Kelley Mitchell (IAIA), Mountain/Pacific Regional Representative Randy Elliott (Northwest Indian College), Midwest Regional Representative Maria Gibbons (OLC), and Great Lakes Regional Representative Deloris Cobb (College of Menominee Nation).

For more information, see http://asc.aihec.org

Find similar: , ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.