College Fund Names 2008 Students of the Year

Jul 12th, 2011 | By | Category: 20-1: Native Voices, Modern Media, Tribal College News

The American Indian College Fund has named its top tribal college students as 2008 “Students of the Year” based on their academic achievements and service to the community.  Each recipient received the prestigious award and was also awarded a scholarship sponsored by the Castle Rock Foundation.

American Indian College Fund President Richard B. Williams (Oglala Lakota) lauded the winning students’ accomplishments. The Students of the Year represent a variety of tribes and attend tribal colleges and universities throughout the United States. Each student winner is selected by his or her individual tribal college.

The 2008 Students of the Year are:

  • Betty Cameron, Bay Mills Community College
  • Thomas Bearchild, Blackfeet Community College
  • Challsey Lawrence, Cankdeska Cikana Community College
  • Gloria Zerber, Chief Dull Knife College
  • Dan Hawk, College of Menominee Nation
  • Ranalda Lynette Tsosie, Diné College
  • Tawnya Bizardie, Fort Belknap College
  • Michael Morningstar, Fort Berthold Community College
  • Sean Soukkala, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
  • Maggie Toans, Fort Peck Community College
  • Gilbert William, Haskell Indian Nations University
  • Bradley Pecore, Institute of American Indian Arts
  • Yvette Friisvall, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College
  • Elissa DeCora, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College
  • Nicole Beaulieu, Leech Lake Tribal College
  • Tim Falls Down, Little Big Horn College
  • Lucita Lopez, Little Priest Tribal College
  • Dody Begay, Navajo Technical College
  • Wyatt Sweell, Northwest Indian College
  • Kolette Medicine, Oglala Lakota College
  • Craig Graveratte, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
  • April Charlo, Salish Kootenai College
  • Ellen Harmon, Sinte Gleska University
  • Janelle Dumarce, Sisseton Wahpeton College
  • Allyson Two Bears, Sitting Bull College
  • Dylan Maho, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
  • Jason Rosette, Stone Child College
  • Kristan Johnson, Tohono O’odham Community College
  • Shera Allard, Turtle Mountain Community College
  • Kara Runs After, United Tribes Technical College
  • Naomi Deschampe, White Earth Tribal and Community College

Red Crow Community College selected Lana Wolf Child, who received her award from the American Indian Higher Education Consortium since Red Crow is located in Alberta, Canada, and thus not eligible for College Fund scholarships or awards.

The American Indian College Fund was established in 1989 to increase educational opportunities for Native students. It is based in Denver. In addition to distributing scholarships to students attending tribal colleges across the country, the College Fund also supports endowments, developmental needs, and public awareness for the tribal colleges.

For more information, see

Find similar: ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.