CCCC students named to all-North Dakota academic team

Mar 16th, 2014 | By | Category: Online TC News, Tribal College News, Web Exclusive

Cankdeska Cikana Community College (CCCC, Fort Totten, ND) announced that Tausha Rainey and Myron Wanna Jr. have been named to the 2014 all-North Dakota academic team. The students were honored at a dinner and awards ceremony held at North Dakota State College of Science in Wahpeton. Eleven North Dakota community college students were named to the 2014 all-North Dakota academic team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. North Dakota governor Jack Dalrymple honored the students with a certificate of congratulations, a medallion, and a monetary award. Rainey and Wanna also received a $400 Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society award from CCCC. In addition, each student is eligible for scholarships from Valley City State University, University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, University of Mary, and Jamestown College.

Each two-year college in North Dakota may nominate two students for the all-USA academic team. Students from North Dakota nominated to the national team comprise the all-North Dakota academic team. Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community.

“These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement,” said Dr. Cynthia Lindquist, president of CCCC. “Being named to the all-North Dakota academic team is a significant accomplishment, one that the students, their families and their colleges can be proud of. Clearly, students who attend North Dakota’s community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education.”

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state teams also are nominated for the all-USA academic team.

Find similar:

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.