American Indian College Fund Honors 34 Students

Aug 15th, 2009 | By | Category: 21-1: Celebrating Tribal College Journal's 20th Anniversary, Tribal College News

The American Indian College Fund honored 34 American Indian scholarship recipients at its 2008-09 Student of the Year reception at the American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) Student Conference in Missoula, MT, on March 30, 2009.

American Indian College Fund President and CEO Richard B. Williams also presented Carole Falcon-Chandler, president of Fort Belknap College in Harlem, MT, with the Tribal College President Award for her contributions to American Indian education during her career. Falcon-Chandler received a $1,000 award.

The Students of the Year each received a $1,000 scholarship from the Castle Rock Foundation. The students are:

  • Sarah Teeple, Social Science, Bay Mills Community College
  • Joseph Still Smoking, Forestry, Blackfeet Community College
  • Jani Adams, Liberal Arts, Cankdeska Cikana Community College
  • Buster Leider, General Studies, Chief Dull Knife College
  • Kristen Waukau, Biological Sciences, College of Menominee Nation
  • Janice Wilson, Nursing, Diné College
  • Joni Cabrera, Social Work, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
  • Lyndsey Stepetin, Psychology, Fort Belknap College
  • Kathryn Roper, Business, Fort Berthold Community College
  • Sudi Pipe, Human Services, Fort Peck Community College
  • Tyler Sessions, American Indian Studies, Haskell Indian Nations University
  • Robert Brower, Electrical Studies, Ilisagvik College
  • Toneh Chuleewah, Museum Studies, Institute of American Indian Arts
  • Georgenia Earring-Chosa, Environmental Science, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College
  • Suzette Am, Small Business Management, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe Community College
  • Tallie Large, Liberal Arts, Leech Lake Tribal College
  • Johnna Snell, Business, Little Big Horn College
  • William Bass, Liberal Arts, Little Priest Tribal College
  • Daniel Barbone, Geographical Information Systems, Navajo Technical College
  • Eleanor Baxter, General Studies, Nebraska Indian Community College
  • Montelongo Junaluska, Arts and Science, Northwest Indian College
  • Samantha Janis, Social Work, Oglala Lakota College
  • Santino Medina, Business, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
  • Jessie McDonald, Business, Salish Kootenai College
  • Lynn Burnette, Jr., Human Services, Sinte Gleska University
  • Charlene Vigil, Dakota Studies, Sisseton Wahpeton College Maxine Thunderhawk, Business Administration, Sitting Bull College
  • Alicia Montoya, Pre-Engineering, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
  • Jodi Four Colors, General Studies, Stone Child College
  • Teresa Vavages, Administration, Tohono O’odham Community College
  • Bonita DeCoteau, Biology, Turtle Mountain Community College
  • Jenna Skunkcap, Elementary Education, United Tribes Technical College
  • Linda Basswood, Native Studies, White Earth Tribal and Community College.

With its credo “Educating the Mind and Spirit,” the Fund is the nation’s largest provider of private scholarships for American Indian students, providing 5,000 scholarships annually for students seeking to better their lives and communities through education. For more information about American Indian College Fund, visit

Find similar: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.