The Fund honors students at AIHEC

Aug 15th, 2012 | By | Category: 24-1: Communicating Yesterday's Stories Today, Tribal College News
By Dina Horwedel

PRESIDENT OF THE YEAR. Little Big Horn College President David Yarlott, Jr. congratulates Dr. S. Verna Fowler, President of the College of Menominee Nation, after she was honored as President of the Year by the American Indian College Fund. Photo by The Fund’s Jaime Aguilar

SHARING A LAUGH. American Indian College Fund President Richard B. Williams celebrates with Chad Auginash, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College’s Student of the Year. Photo by The Fund’s Jaime Aguilar

The American Indian College Fund (The Fund) honored 33 American Indian scholarship recipients at its 2011-12 Student of the Year reception at the AIHEC conference. The program, sponsored by the Adolph Coors Foundation, awarded each honoree a $1,000 scholarship. American Indian College Fund President and CEO Richard B. Williams also presented S. Verna Fowler, president of College of Menominee Nation in Keshena, WI, with the Tribal College President Award for her contributions to American Indian education during her career. Fowler received a $1,000 award. Students of the year include the following:

Jeremy Richey, Aaniiih Nakoda College

Daraka McLeod, Bay Mills Community College

 • Paula Bremner, Blackfeet Community College

Ryan Brown, Cankdeska Cikana Community College

Wade Longie, Chief Dull Knife College

Therese Coon, College of Menonimee Nation

Alvin Dahozy, Diné College

Chad Auginash, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College

Noel Baker, Fort Berthold Community College

Beau Plummer, Fort Peck Community College

Curt Pahmahmie, Haskell Indian Nations University

Jacqueline Aamodt, Ilisagvik College

Charles Rencountre, Institute of American Indian Arts

Sarah Garver, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College

Daryl Coons, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe Community College

Kim Dickson, Leech Lake Tribal College

Eric Lewis, Northwest Indian College

Ronnea Gramling, Little Big Horn College

Jessica Stout, Little Priest Tribal College

Dwight Carlston, Navajo Technical College

Brian Morris, Nebraska Indian Community College

Lester Wells, Oglala Lakota College

Brenda Walker, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College

Amy Stiffarm, Salish Kootenai College

Dera Iyotte, Sinte Gleska University

Anna Iskra, Sisseton Wahpeton College

Palani Luger, Sitting Bull College

Vincent Waquiu, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

Teena Thompson, Stone Child College

Benedict Jose, Tohono O’odham Community College

Renee Belgarde, Turtle Mountain Community College

Laramie Plainfeather, United Tribes Technical College

Pamela Fairbanks, White Earth Tribal and Community College

In other news, Charity Navigator, the nation’s top charity evaluation system, has awarded The Fund a coveted four-star rating for sound fiscal management and transparency. This is The Fund’s third consecutive four-star rating. In May, The Fund also confirmed the addition of Dr. Florence McGeshick Garcia, president of Fort Peck Community College (FPCC, Poplar, MT) and Albert Gaylor, vice president of industry relations and diversity for Sysco Corporation, to the board.

Garcia, Washte Hinapawe (Good Woman Comes Out), is an enrolled member of the Fort Peck Assiniboine and Sioux tribes. She earned her doctorate in adult and higher education from Montana State University – Bozeman and served as the academic vice president at FPCC before beginning her tenure as president in January 2012.

Gaylor has had a prestigious career as an executive with more than 40 years of experience in the food industry managing well-known American grocery and food service brands. He is vice president of industry relations and diversity for Sysco Corporation, a Fortune 100 company and North America’s leading marketer and distributor of food service products with $40 billion in annual sales.

Find similar: , ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.