President Names Tribal College Advisors

Nov 15th, 1999 | By | Category: 11-2: Teacher Education, Tribal College News

President Bill Clinton appointed the first members of the Board of Advisors on Tribal Colleges and Universities on July 20, 1999. The board will help implement the Executive Order that Clinton signed on October 21, 1996. They are Alison R. Bernstein, Dr. Lionel Bordeaux, Dr. Tom Colonnese, Dr. Verna Fowler, Dr. Tommy Lewis, Jr., Dr. Joe McDonald, Dr. Joseph Martin, Dr. Gerald “Carty” Monette, Debra Norris, Dr. Janine Pease-Pretty on Top, Dr. Anne C. Petersen, Faith Ruth Roessel, Dr. Karl Stauber, Richard Trudell, and Patrick Williams.

Under Executive Order 13021, the Board of Advisors on Tribal Colleges and Universities provides advice regarding the progress made by federal agencies to improve access to federal resources and programs for tribal colleges and universities. It seeks increased recognition of tribal colleges and universities, access to opportunities provided to other institutions, and ongoing commitments of federal resources. The board promotes access to high-quality education for economically disadvantaged students as well as the preservation and revitalization of American Indian and Alaska Native languages and cultural traditions. The board also explores innovative approaches for linking tribal colleges with early childhood, elementary, and secondary education programs.

Dr. Alison R. Bernstein of New York, N.Y., is the vice president for the Education, Media, Arts, and Culture Program for the Ford Foundation. Dr. Lionel Bordeaux of Rosebud, South Dakota, has served as president of Sinte Gleska University since 1973, leading the development of the institution from a two-year college to a four-year, multi-program and graduate university. Dr. Tom Colonnese of Seattle, Wash., is the assistant vice president for the Office of Minority Affairs at the University of Washington.

Dr. Verna Fowler of Keshena, Wis., is the president and founder of the College of Menominee Nation (CMN), her affiliated tribe. Dr. Tommy Lewis, Jr., of Tsaille, Ariz., is the president of DinĂ© College. Dr. Joseph McDonald of Ronan, Mont., has served as the president of Salish Kootenai College since 1978. Dr. Joseph Martin of Flagstaff, Ariz., is an associate professor of Educational Leadership at Northern Arizona University. Dr. Gerald “Carty” Monette of Belcourt, N. D., is the president of Turtle Mountain Community College. Debora Norris of Sells, Ariz., is one of the first two Native American women to serve in the Arizona House of Representatives.

Dr. Janine Pease-Pretty on Top of Crow Agency, Mont., is the president of Little Big Horn College. Dr. Anne C. Petersen of Kalamazoo, Mich., is the senior vice president for programs at the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. Faith Ruth Roessel of Bethesda, Md., previously was deputy assistant secretary for Indian affairs at the Interior Department. Dr. Karl Stauber of St. Paul, Minn., is the president of the Northwest Area Foundation. Richard Trudell of Oakland, Calif., is the executive director and principal founder of the American Indian Lawyer Training Program, Inc., and its American Indian Resources Institute. Former Congressman Patrick Williams of Missoula, Mont., is senior fellow at the Center of the Rocky Mountain West and teaches at the University of Montana.

Find similar: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.