AIHEC Presents Award to Sens. Burns, Dorgan

May 15th, 2005 | By | Category: 16-4: International Indigenous Education, Tribal College News

The American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) honored U.S. Senators Conrad Burns (R-MT) and Byron L. Dorgan (D-ND) Feb. 16, 2005, as the first recipients of the “AIHEC Abourezk-Skeen Award.”

The award is named in honor of former U.S. Sen. James G. Abourezk (D-SD) and the late Congressman Joseph R. Skeen (R-NM). Abourezk was one of the first Congressional supporters of the nation’s tribal colleges, introducing legislation that recognized the responsibility of the federal government to fund tribally-controlled post-secondary institutions. That legislation became known as the Tribally Controlled College or University Assistance Act of 1978.

Congressman Skeen was chairman of the House Appropriations Committee on Agriculture and later the Subcommittee on Interior. He championed funding of the Equity in Educational Land Grant Status Act of 1994 and the Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities Act.

This award will be presented once every 4 years to two individuals whose contributions exemplify the leadership and commitment that Abourezk and Skeen demonstrated during their years in the United States Congress.

Find similar: , , ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.